top of page

Presentation Preparation


Last week I interviewed some of the children involved in setting the reflection spaces and some of the regular users. It was really gratifying to here them feedback exactly my intentions for the space.

Words like calm, peaceful, quiet were used.

I saw children who are quieter in nature become animated and enthusiastic about this Special Space.

There were children who spoke about the space as a place to leave behind the "badness" and walk out with "good things" - a very powerful exchange had occurred in the Special Sacred Space.

A few others articulated that they loved going in with their friends, not to talk, but to shared the experience; in this Special Sacred Shared Space.

But equally, other children mentioned that they enjoyed going in on their own, to get away from the noisy and activity of the playground; in this Special Sacred Shared Space that provides Solitude.

Whilst organising the parent permissions to use the images and videos of the children interviewed I received two emails via the website contact link. The first was from RE Today, a national publication, asking me to write an article about the project for their January 2017 issue! The second was a wonderful email of thanks from a parent:

"Hi Mr Harbottle,

I was very happy to read the information regarding the inclusivity of all faiths and those children of no faith. My eldest attended Mosspits and my youngest is in year 4. The majority of our family are atheist and I find it extremely frustrating when people assume that my children are not spiritual because they are not religious. My youngest is very interested in religions and has still not made a decision about her own beliefs. However I feel she sometimes feels she is not 'normal' as we don't believe in god and this is more apparent at Christmas/Easter etc. The inclusion and understanding of all religions is also hugely important for our children in the current climate of fear and Islamaphobia. My kids are extremely thoughtful and always give money and buy food etc for people who they see on the streets, who are homeless or begging for money. They don't need to be religious to have a good moral compass and compassion for others. Thank you so much for the work you are doing on this and please keep us updated. I can't attend on 23rd June as on holiday but would love to come along to future events."

It was really humbling to realise that this project has impacted many children, and probably more than I realise. I'm excited about sharing this at my presentation at Toxteth Annexe, Liverpool, on Thursday and then at the Farmington Institute RE Conference, Oxford, on Saturday.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page